Skip to content

Wonderful wanderings

July 26, 2017

Yesterday, as I strolled through the streets of Brunswick on my way to collect my son from daycare, it hit me that I am ridiculously lucky. 


Not just because I have a lovely family, a good job, a nice house and all of that stuff which is evidently extremely important and for which I’m also grateful…


But because I can walk, and I live in a very walkable, fascinating place, and because the simple act of walking and looking around brings me huge amounts of joy.

How lucky is that!?! Getting joy from walking!


Sometimes I slightly resent having an “artistic temperament”. I wonder if life would be easier if I didn’t feel compelled to create. But then I wouldn’t see the world as I see it. I wouldn’t find it so endlessly interesting and beautiful. So though I doubt I’ll ever earn much financially as an artist it is well worth it just to be able to see all the everyday beauty that is always around wherever you happen to be in the world.


Thanks to my muse Melbourne, hopefully more artworks will be created soon. But it is lovely to realise that even if that doesn’t happen I’m still lucky just to be able to see the wonder and vibrancy of the city around me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

