Skip to content

Sudden illness, slow gestating art…

May 2, 2017

I have no voice at the moment. Also, not much energy. It is very annoying.

On Friday morning I had a voice, and I felt fine. On Friday arvo I still felt fine but my voice started to disappear. By Friday night it was gone. And then I started to feel a bit more bleurgh.

Laryngitis apparently.

So I can’t go to work, don’t have the energy to go out or do much housework, and of course I can’t talk. So, what to do?

  1.  Read ridiculous amounts of books.
  2. Restock my My Etsy shop. Which I opened about 7 years ago (eek!) but have neglected for most of that time. But according to my stats people have suddenly started visiting my shop in the past few months, even though there has been nothing there. So, ever the optimist, I’ve restocked.

Actually it has been kind of fun going through my drawers of artworks and prints and imagining them going to forever homes. I really hope they do.

Plus I found an old unfinished painting from several years ago (four or five at a guess) and I really like it. Got to get back into the gouache and finish it sometime soon.

FullSizeRender(2)

Another item for my to do list!

Seven years to get around to doing Etsy properly. Five years to paint one picture. I really don’t rush things, do I?

Never mind. Years ago I discovered the line-work for an artwork of a couple of cats lounging on shelves in my drawers. It had been languishing in the drawer for years, but I dusted it off, painted it up, and it is possibly my favourite artwork ever, despite the long gestation.

Literary Felines

Literary Felines by Julia Marshall (and yes, you can buy prints of this from my Etsy shop now).

I have so many different creative outlets and hobbies and projects and dreams. I’m not very efficient as an artist. But hopefully as these things bubble along slowly at least some will brew into wonderful creations that were worth waiting for.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

