Skip to content

Warming up a little

January 17, 2017

I am not a warm person. At least that is how it seems.

I like people. I’m pretty sure I usually like other people more than they like me. I wish others the best, always. I’m interested in their lives, and stories, worries and joys.

Yet I am difficult to get to know. I struggle to chat, or dive in too deep, or get overwhelmed and retreat. I am guarded, reserved, shy. I overthink and undertalk. People don’t take to me, at least in part, because they think I don’t take to them.

On the inside I am warm, I care. I’d like to talk, even more to listen. But how do I learn to say the right things, to gauge the right level of questions, or find mutually engaging topics? 

How do I turn my inside out? Is it time to try underthinking and over talking? That strikes me as potentially disastrous! 

What I know is that people matter and connection to people is the crux of life. 

Somehow I need to get better at connecting. I think my mission is this: take the warmth within me and wear it on the outside.

I wonder if I can?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 18, 2017 1:35 am

    Hi, Julia! I feel the same, many times… I’m a poem maker from Brazil and I want to talk about some of your beautiful draws. Wich way you think is better? email, skype, linkedin, facebook messenger, whatsapp… There are some many! my mail: olhodalua@gmail.com Byebye.

Leave a Reply

