Skip to content

It’s time…

October 8, 2016

Time has galloped! Suddenly my son is 15 months old. This time next month I’ll be back at work. My partner and I have been together now for 19 years, married for five. And tonight I’m heading out for my 20 year school reunion! Surely I’m not old enough for all this?!? How can this be?!?

ju-and-parsley

Taking a break from drawing at the window, aged about seven.

And yet in other areas it seems that time has stood still. Or gone backwards. As an optimistic child environmentalist, back in the 1980s and 90s, I would never have imagined that 25 years would pass and still we’d be driving petrol cars, burning coal to make electricity and that over-consumption would have increased not improved. How depressing.

This is not the future I imagined as a little girl watching Beyond 2000. This is not the future I want for my son!

Time flies and before you know it you’re middle-aged with a child and a mortgage. But idealism doesn’t have to die. This is a timely reminder that life is short. So, this is the time to pursue the things that really matter to me. Time to chase my childhood dreams – at least the ones I still care about. And time to fight for things that matter.

Artwork reading "I still believe my childhood dreams"

Artwork copyright Julia Marshall

Better late than never.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

