Skip to content

My building boom

April 20, 2014

Why do I build?

I’m well into my thirties now, so why spend my precious time and money on little plastic bricks? Why have I just spent the better part of a long-weekend on building a Lego version of a row of boom-style Melbourne shops?

IMG_3480-LadyWithCake

A row of Melbourne shops.

And why does my lounge currently look like an explosion in a toyshop?

IMG_3371-LegoToyShop

Children checking out the toyshop.

I build for many reasons. To create and explore. To live out my some of childhood dreams. To escape reality and retreat to into an introverted building trance…

IMG_3363

Looking down into the Lego toy shop, bakery and hardware store.

And to celebrate the history and architecture of my beautiful home city…

A row of boom style Melbourne shops.

A row of boom style Melbourne shops.

But on reflection I suspect the deepest reason I build is to express my inner control freak. To have ultimate, infinite power and create the world as I would have it. Every building is a heritage building. There are no cars. The Melbourne street I have been building has evolved into a pedestrian precinct. There are lots of animals and cakes and smiles.

IMG_3353

A happy customer leaving the hardware store with a new wheelbarrow

So maybe it is a good thing that I still build. Better to be the Goddess of Little Bricks than try to be an uber-control freak in the real world.

But the real world does demand a certain amount of control… Time to go pack away those bricks and restore a little order to that lounge room of ours…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

