Skip to content

A post from a happy place

November 3, 2013

Social media is a god-send to people who are isolated.

When I began this blog I needed an outlet to communicate with the world. Without a steady job, my life lacked focus, structure and connection. Blogging was a way to reflect, reach out, connect, and stay sane. I was also toying with the idea of re-focusing on my illustration business instead of continuing as a librarian, so blogging made sense as a way of promoting my business.

But I soon realised that I love being a librarian more than I love being an artist. My love of being around people, having a structure to my life, and feeling like I’m contributing usefully to a community accounts for that. As I’ve gradually found more and more work as a librarian, my desire to blog has dropped away. Now I work full time as a librarian. My life is pleasantly structured. My days are happily bursting with things to do. I’m communicating with people throughout each day (in person, by phone, by email…), and I spend hours looking at computer screens. It probably isn’t surprising that blogging no longer holds the appeal it once did.

Like so many people I know, (almost everyone?), I have suffered from bouts of depression.

Gradually I’ve learned what works to keep me happy and healthy:

  • Do work I love and care about
  • Walk a lot (for fresh air, exercise and quiet reflection time)
  • Eat regularly, healthily and moderately
  • Have regular routines that keep me busy and around people
  • Make time for friends and family
  • Allow quiet recharging and reflection time
  • Don’t over-commit
  • Do things I love doing, (like writing, painting, gardening and blogging), when I really want to, not because I feel I should

So, I may not post this blog very often any more, but when I do it will be because I really I want to.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2013 9:50 pm

    Hi Julia, I was checking out an old blog reading list and found yours again! ( And in another round about way also just read the post from you from 2 years ago trying to contact me about the craft group). The group has fizzled out a bit, work/life/health/ suitable venue & other stuff gets in the way, maybe my New Years’ resolution should be to get the group up and running again! Find me on the blog or FB if you want to catch up/ come along to craft group again. Often think of you & your “cats of Coburg” pics if I see a new cat in a yard somewhere!

    • Julia Marshall permalink*
      November 23, 2013 9:07 am

      Thanks Dianne, Lovely to hear from you. I’ll keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

