Skip to content

My Number One Objective, Revised and Reaffirmed

July 3, 2012

Back before I began my new job I wrote a post about my objectives for myself. The new start was a chance to reflect upon my priorities and establish new habits. Blogging about it was intended to help me remember those priorities.

As my health has recently become rather shaky, it is interesting to refer back to that post and see that I listed as my number 1 objective:

I will improve my health and overall well-being. I will allow myself sufficient time to rest and relax. I will exercise regularly and make healthy eating a priority. I will focus on eating wholefoods, vegetables, fruits, proteins and organic produce as much as possible. I will cut down on refined and over-processed foods, and also (for different reasons) cut down my intake of meat. I will remember to drink plenty of water. I will avoid migraine triggers of all kinds. Without good health my other objectives are unlikely to succeed.

Amen to that, sister!… oh wait, that was me… Anyway…

When I look at this advice to myself I’m pleased to see that I have been doing pretty well on several points – exercise is going well, my diet is improving, and I’m generally remembering to hydrate myself. So where is the most work needed? Well, while I’m reasonably good at resting, I struggle sometimes to really relax. And avoiding migraine triggers remains problematic. I’m doing really well lately with controlling what I eat, but avoiding environmental triggers is proving troublesome. How do you control or avoid what is going on around you on trams, in the street, on buses and at work? With enormous difficulty! But to some extent it seems that I have to find ways to do this as I’m having major problems at the moment with dizzy spells, migraines (and worse) triggered by flashing lights, loud noises and strong scents.

Finally I think I need to add something to my Number One Objective: I will commit to finding health professionals who can provide me with answers and help me to successfully manage my health. For too long I’ve just accepted that occasional (or sometimes frequent) migraines, fatigue, dizziness and confusion are a part of who I am. As much as I hate medical tests and appointments, I owe it to myself to finally get this $#!& properly sorted.

So here is my revised Number One Objective:

I will improve my health and overall well-being. I will allow myself sufficient time to rest and relax. I will exercise regularly and make healthy eating a priority. I will focus on eating wholefoods, vegetables, fruits, proteins and organic produce as much as possible. I will cut down on refined and over-processed foods. I will remember to drink plenty of water. I will avoid migraine triggers of all kinds. I will commit to finding health professionals who can provide me with answers and help me to successfully manage my health. With good health as a foundation my other objectives are more likely to succeed.

OK, self, now to put the plan into practice. Turn the ‘puter off, grab a glass of water, then put your feet up and your brain into neutral. Yes, you are going to focus on your health, but right now that means actually relaxing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

