Skip to content

Up and running…

November 4, 2011

It took me weeks to completely shake that evil cold I caught a few weeks ago. But when I finally did I wanted to celebrate by doing something to improve my overall health. I decided I would start an exercise program to get fit.

But then my doctor threw a spanner into the works of my plan. She was concerned that just maybe the chest pains that were continuing to bother me might indicate a problem with my heart.

No. I was sure. I was just having trouble shaking the last of the evil cold out of my system. Perhaps I’d strained my muscles with all the coughing?

Perhaps. But the doctor was not convinced. We’d get some tests done, just in case. Better put the new exercise regime plans on hold.

This kind of freaked me out. You see, my interactions with doctors usually follow a very strict pattern. I explain that I’m worried about something. They are convinced it is nothing. This reverso scenario had me concerned.

But now things are all good again. I haven’t had any chest pains for well over a week, and my heart passed its exams with flying colours. I had a ECG test while being put through my paces on a treadmill and the doctor declared my results looked “beautiful!”

BIG sigh of relief.

So today I began my celebrations by starting the Couch-to-5K running plan. And I enjoyed it! Now I just have to stick at it, (here are some tips I plan to use), and make exercise part of my regular routine.

I like having a healthy heart. I intend to keep it that way.

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 10:33 am

    Best of luck with your running (been running for 10 years now = half my life!). Stay dedicated, stay strong!

    Best,
    A

Leave a Reply

