Skip to content

Stunning Sydney

October 4, 2011

As long as I’ve been living in Melbourne I’ve been hearing about the rivalry between Melbourne and Sydney. According to various accounts in the newspapers, in books, magazines and on TV the citizens of our two cities despise one another and are constantly battling to claim “best city” status. What rubbish. Almost every Melburnian who heard that we were going/have gone to Sydney for a few days for our honeymoon responded with “Oh, Sydney is beautiful“, or “I just love Sydney!”, or “Oh, Sydney is fantastic! You’ll have a great time!”

A curly lamp-post in the Rocks

And we did have a great time. Sydney is undeniably beautiful and a wonderful place to take a break.

The Sydney Harbour Bridge from Observatory Park

Sydney gave us 5 days of glorious mock-summer for our honeymoon and I don’t think we could have chosen a better destination. The city pretty much has it all: a stunning harbour, fascinating history, some great architecture, fantastic food, good bookshops, relaxing beaches, lots of greenery and wildlife close to town, and plenty of harbour ferries to make getting around enjoyable.

Looking down at Rocks terrace houses from Observatory Park

We explored the Rocks and the Quay, Balmain, Kirribilli and Manly, as well as the city centre. We ate copious amounts of highly delicious food, and enjoyed browsing and buying at several all-too-tempting bookshops. At Sydney Observatory we peered through telescopes and learned that we are both born under the constellation which astronomers think of as “the teapot”. We were able to catch ferries to most of the places we wanted to visit, and also delighted in catching ferries to where ever they happened to be going, just for the sake of being on a ferry on Sydney’s beautiful harbour. And I never got tired of spotting the bridge looking beautiful from pretty much every possible angle.

The bridge from the Botanic Gardens

There was only one disappointment for me in Sydney. I did not see a single cat, (for those who don’t know this about me, my hobby is photographing the cats of Melbourne, preferably while they lounge on the verandahs or parapets of photogenic terrace houses). In Sydney, we saw adorable dogs galore, as well as native creatures including crabs, lizards, ibis, cockatoos and ducks, but although I scanned the rooftops, verandahs, windows, balconies and gardens of every Sydney terrace house that I passed, with my camera ready to snap my first every photo of a Sydney cat, not one single Sydneysider puss did I spy.

An eastern sea dragon at Manly

But I did get to see and snap a few eastern sea dragons basking on sunny cliff-sides, and scuttling vertically up sunny cliff-faces. The agility of these creatures puts even cats to shame.

Sunset behind the bridge, as seen from the Manly ferry

I’ve no doubt that we will be return to Sydney many times. We’ve only just begun exploring all that this beautiful city has to offer. She is the perfect tourist town.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 10:15 am

    Love your blog. I am an Aussie girl at heart although I now live in Northern California. I was not born there but lived and worked in Sydney and went to school in Canberra for most of my life. Your pictures brought back memories of our trip last yr. to Sydney and Melbourne. I’ve always thought each city had much to offer. I’ve never lived in Melbourne but it is an amazing city. And the food is exceptional. Sydney with its stunning vistas and beaches is out of this world isn’t it? I saw just one cat on my holiday. I wonder if it is more a dog city, for I saw a lot of them. oh and those book shops are pretty great aren’t they? I really like that you’re a librarian. It is my dream job, along with reviewing books for a living… Keep the posts coming, would love to read more.

Leave a Reply

