Skip to content

Getting well soon…

September 9, 2011

Long live quinoa, sheep’s milk yoghurt, soy milk, chia seeds, spelt bread and brocolli!

My eating and drinking habits may earn me the disdain of barristas and gourmets across this coffee-centric indulgence-loving city, but I am living proof that you are what you eat. When I eat really well, I feel well – healthy, energetic and happy. When I eat poorly I end up feeling crook. If I’m lucky I get off lightly with bloating, foggy-thinking and lethargy, but if I’m unlucky I cop a migraine or my immune system packs it in and I catch whichever cold and/or flu is currently circulating in Melbourne’s library and public transport systems.

This winter I’ve hardly been ill at all. I’ve had the odd cold for a day or two, and a headache or migraine every now and then, but generally I’ve been well. Midway through last year I finally found a health practioner with an approach that works for me (which I’d describe as sensibly scientific, yet open-minded and wholistic). This naturopath has overhauled my diet and my health has drastically improved. I now eat more protein, fruit, vegies, seeds, nuts and healthy whole-grains, and less dairy products, wheat and, most of all, less sugar.

Avoiding sugar has been a bit of a revelation for me. I don’t have a particularly sweet tooth, so I didn’t think I ate that much sugar. But when I’d get stressed I’d medicate with a cake as a treat, which (although I didn’t realise it) made me feel worse, which made me more stressed, which led to more cake, which led to more stress. You get the idea. Conversely, once I stopped eating sugar I almost immediately stopped wanting it, and my tastebuds adapted so that everything else tasted sweeter anyway, and I felt much better.

Unfortunately however, having made it safely through winter without falling ill, in spring I guess I got a bit complacent. A little more pasta, bread, cheese and even occassionally sugar had crept back into my diet. And so, along with half of Melbourne, I’ve succumbed to a cold. This is very bad timing. I’m getting married in eight days.

So now I’m resting up, keeping warm and making sure I get into the vegies and the ginger and the garlic. And for the next week at least I’ll be steering well clear of sugary cakes and biscuits. As for whether I’ll be strong-willed enough to forgo all the cakey goodness we’ve got planned for the wedding… hmmm, I think I’ll have a little bit… But in general I have to say my life is much sweeter when I don’t add sugar.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2011 10:56 pm

    Hiya

    Thanks for ‘liking’ my post about Fletcher, one of the cats I was caring for in Melbourne awhile back. I’ve bookmarked your blog, and will get back to it tomorrow, promise …

    Hope you soon feel better for that important day, Julia.

    Yvonne

  2. September 12, 2011 5:58 am

    Hi Julia, Thank you for visiting my Blog. I am so glad to meet with you, especially I should say, I loved your cats… They are so beautiful and creative. I read now your post, about food, health,… this is so important, but I changed all my food style/cooking ect. I don’t use sugar, instead of sugar I eat fresh and dried fruits… This is amazing and so good for our health. And also every morning before the breakfast I drink a hot water with lemon juice and honey… You can search on Google. This is so good too. I feel better after all problems… My Best Wishes for you both (for your wedding/marriage), for your new life, Blessing and happiness, with my love, nia

  3. Julia Marshall permalink*
    September 25, 2011 1:52 pm

    Thanks Nia and Yvonne – we had a great day.

Leave a Reply

