Skip to content

Farewell my feisty feline friend

May 13, 2011

Last Friday, my number-one feline friend, Tuesday, had to be euthanized.

Apart from a three year cat minding stint, and the occasional cat-sit, Tuesy didn’t live with me and Andrew anymore, (she lived with my brother and sister-in-law), but I’ve known her since my childhood, and her kitteenage-years, some twenty-two years ago. Tuesday wandered into the lives of my family, on a Tuesday, back when I was still in primary school.

She was a pint-sized, delicate looking little tabby, but her dainty looks were deceiving. She was gutsy, aggressively moody, and doggedly, (no, she would hate that word, sorry), cattedly determined. Over the years she survived several strokes, and defied the predictions of at least one vet. She was one feisty little ball of fluff. But once you won her trust she was a wonderful feline friend.

I will miss her pretty face, her mew-chirrups, her lovely soft and spotty-striped fur, her determined refusal to sit on my lap when she’d rather perch on my chest and snuggle under my chin, and most of all I will miss her super-charged purr. Rest in Peace, Tuesday, you will be missed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 11:48 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your kitty. It’s a sad fact that we almost always will outlive our pets.

    • Julia Marshall permalink*
      June 16, 2011 4:13 pm

      Thanks Sue. Thankfully Tuesday had not only a long life, but I think also an enjoyable one.

Leave a Reply

