Skip to content

How copy cats brightened my week…

April 29, 2011

This week has been a particularly difficult one. I’ve been feeling very anxious about how long it is taking me to find work again. And at times I feel very isolated, and kind of useless. I like doing arty things, but mostly I want to be back in a library and part of a workplace community again. Though I’m sure it will happen eventually, for the meantime I’m on stuck on the outside trying to work my way back in. I feel a bit like the locked out cat in my illustration below.

"Sad Cat" by Julia Marshall

Perhaps it is appropriate then that my sad faced cat picture played a part in cheering me up earlier this week.

Out the blue I received an email from K-Sue, an American mom who is home-schooling her children and providing art lessons to some other children as well. She was alerting me to a blog post she’d created about using some of my illustrations as part of an art lesson.

I really like the interpretations of my artworks that children created, which included a great rendition of my sad cat…

Sad Cat reinterpretted

And some lovely re-interpretations of my curly cats and dogs, including some with the cats assigned names, (I think the yellow block-shaped “Pound Cake Cat” has been particularly well named!)

Curly cats re-interpretted, and named!

By drawing in stick-figuresque style I’ve always hoped to show that pictures can be really simple and yet still be appealing. I hoped that children would find my images especially appealing because they aren’t too far removed from what they can draw themselves.

"Fifty Cats" by Julia Marshall

K-Sue’s art lesson made my day. Not only did it make me feel like my pictures serve a purpose, but reading about the lesson on K-Sue’s blog made me feel part of a community again – the community of arty-crafty people from all over the world who are linked by the internet. Also, I enjoy reading the list of labels on K-Sue’s blog which includes various artists such as Kandinsky, Mondrian, Monet… and Julia Marshall. That makes me smile! Thanks K-Sue.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 2:18 am

    I’m so glad the post brightened your day! When I am posting about art lessons derived from a contemporary artist, I sometimes fear he/she may not find imitation the sincerest form of flattery, but really, it is. The Sm’Arties LOVED your cats and dogs, and could hardly wait to start drawing!

  2. May 24, 2011 1:38 am

    Congratulations, Julia!! You do amazing work and I’m so glad that it is being recognized!

    suzy

Leave a Reply

