Skip to content

Of cats and toy cars and autumn evening sunsets…

March 29, 2011
tags:

It has been a perfect autumn day today in Melbourne. So with Andrew busy working an evening shift, I hit the streets with my camera in search of cats. The sun was heading down and I was heading homewards when I finally came across a lithe young black cat. I stopped to give her/him a pat, but wasn’t going to try to take any photos, because the sun was getting low and the cat was sitting in front of an unattractive garage door.

But this cat really wanted attention, (I suspect dinner had not yet been served). S/he chased me around the corner, where the setting sun was casting a gorgeous autumn light. Feline photo addict that I am, I couldn’t resist snapping a few pictures as kitty raced back and forth following me up the street. I thought that after a house or two the cat would give up and go home. No. Kitty followed me all the way to the next corner, prancing, leaping and meowing all the way. Also trying to climb my legs and head-butting the camera when I was taking photos.

At the corner s/he showed no sign of losing interest, so I decided I’d better retrace my footsteps and make sure the cat made it home again. So we snapped and meowed our way back down the street, and had almost returned to cat’s place when s/he flopped picturesquely on the pavement.

 

As I continued snapping, a couple of kids started playing across the street with some remote controlled cars. This held the cat transfixed.

The kids came over and drove the cars near me and the cat. I thought the cat might be scared, but s/he was fascinated, and then decided that the cars should be hunted! I wish I could share pictures of this with you, but although I believe that photographing other people’s cats is fair game, I draw the line at photographing other people’s children (at least without parental permission).

So, you’ll just have to trust me – seeing this young creature waiting to pounce on a toy car was excruciatingly cute!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 9:18 pm

    How adorable! What a gorgeous cat.

  2. Julia Marshall permalink*
    March 31, 2011 12:07 pm

    And good to see that you’ve added another post to MelbLibrarian, Rachel. I hope you keep it up, because I think your blog will grow to be a really useful resource.

    Glad you liked the cat!

  3. April 21, 2011 10:27 am

    What a curious cat! I like his ears-at-attention look when he is watching the toy car.

Leave a Reply

