Skip to content

Desperately seeking Dianne, (and the rest of the Coburg Craft Group)

February 2, 2011

One of the promises I have made to myself as I return to self-employment is that this time I will find ways to stay connected with people. If you’re not careful, working from a home-office as a freelancer can be soul-destroyingly isolating, even for an uber-introvert like me. This is one of the reasons why I am a committed blog reader, and why I’ve decided to reach out to the world myself via a blog. And for all its many flaws, I’m also a commited Facebook fan. To Facebook’s many critics I say, don’t knock it until you’ve tried working alone for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, or more. People with colleagues can chat, but at least these days, those of us who work alone can post.

But even with blog reading and posting, and Facebook, I’m still aware that I need to see real people. So, I’ve been making an effort to meet up with friends for morning/afternoon teas and lunches, and to try to meet local artists and crafts people. So, I was very excited to stumble across a blog identifying a local craft group… until I realised that I could find no contact information to get in touch with the group. Doh!

I’m posting this in the hope that somehow this post will be discovered by Dianne or one of the other members of the Coburg Craft Group, so I can join them at for their next meeting. If you can help connect me to the group, (or in fact any other social groups of artists or crafters in Melbourne’s northern suburbs, please use the form below to get in touch. Thanks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

